findnoob.blogg.se

Mac mini server ram upgrade
Mac mini server ram upgrade













mac mini server ram upgrade

I should preface this by saying I bought the Mac mini fully knowing it was not a very powerful machine. Macs are notoriously hard to upgrade, and that's by design It was yet another much-needed reminder that Apple goes out of its way to make tinkering a herculean task. It involved painstakingly dismantling the entire machine piece by piece, using janky tools in place of the specialized ones I didn’t have.

Mac mini server ram upgrade upgrade#

And simply to reach one of maybe only two parts an average computer owner may ever want to upgrade on their own. But I was not at all prepared for the massive undertaking the late 2014-era Mac mini requires of users. This I know well from simple cases like RAM upgrades. Now, Macs are notoriously hard to upgrade, and that’s by design.

mac mini server ram upgrade

Yet because the product is made by Apple, a seemingly simple procedure turns out to be a day-long adventure into the deepest, darkest parts of the DIY computer repair community.

mac mini server ram upgrade

So I decided to replace its spinning hard disk drive with a solid state one. You see, it was slow and hampered by its components, and in desperate need of a speed boost. Last weekend, I performed an invasive and meticulous operation on one of my more valuable gadgets: a late 2014 Mac mini.















Mac mini server ram upgrade